Wednesday, 17 April 2013

2013 Western Australian Heritage Awards

The Western Australian Heritage Awards took place on 16 April 2013 at the State Theatre Centre in Perth. Following some social mingling two very apt and quite striking speeches were given by Marion Fulker and Albert Jacob, respectively chair of the Heritage Council and Minister for Heritage. The awards were then in full swing with Matt Tinney of Channel Nine News as MC, who I must add, flawlessly carried on through a temporary power failure!

The community of Toodyay were undoubtedly the overall winners with the Shire of Toodyay, it's Old Goal and Jenny Edgecombe of the Toodyay Historical Society all taking home awards.

I'd like to thank the Heritage Council and the State Heritage Office for my award. I am the very honoured recipient of the Outstanding Newcomer: The Professor David Dolan Award. The full list of honours are below. I'd like to extend my congratulations to not just the winners and high commendations but all of the very worthy finalists.

Outstanding voluntary contribution to heritage by an individual
Winner: Jenny Edgecombe, Toodyay Historical Society
High Commendation: Professor Geoffrey Bolton AO, WA Museum

Outstanding contribution to heritage by a professional in the heritage industry
Winner: Katrina Chisholm, Claremont
High Commendation: Ian Hocking, Hocking Heritage Studio, Shenton Park
High Commendation: Leigh Barrett, City of Bunbury

Outstanding contribution to heritage by a community-based organisation
Winner: Western Australian Indigenous Tourism Operators’ Council
Winner: Historical Society of Cockburn
High Commendation: Newdegate Historical Society

Outstanding contribution to heritage by a public or private organisation
Winner: Dome Coffees Australia
High Commendation: Lotterywest

Outstanding heritage practices by a local government
Winner: Shire of Toodyay
High Commendation: City of Vincent

Outstanding conservation of a residential place
Winner: Kulahea, Cottesloe
High Commendation: The Rocks, Albany

Outstanding conservation of a non-residential place
Winner: Heritage Buildings at Brookfield Place (Newspaper House Group & Perth Technical College)
Winner: Edenvale, Pinjarra
High Commendation: Sailmaker’s Shed, Broome

Outstanding interpretation project that enhances a place
Winner: Newcastle Gaol, Toodyay
High Commendation: Wireless Hill Centenary Exhibition, Ardross
High Commendation: Rottnest Island ‘Open House and After Dark’

Outstanding heritage tourism product
Winner: Two Feet & a Heartbeat: Guided Walking Tours
High Commendation: Rottnest Island Heritage Week 2012

Excellence in Adaptive Reuse: The Gerry Gauntlett Award
Winner: West Australian Ballet Centre, Maylands
High Commendation: The Office of the Premier and Cabinet Room, West Perth (the former Hale School)

Outstanding Newcomer: The Professor David Dolan Award
Winner: Andrew S. Bowman, Carnamah Historical Society

More info about the awards and the winners can be found at:


  1. Congratultions - to you, to all the awardees, and to the organisers- looks like some good, practical awards.

    1. Thank you Linda and absolutely - the awards did a great job of shining a spotlight on some of the great work that has been done in heritage. Things that would never normally even get heard about like Dome Coffees Australia and their adaptive reuse and care of heritage buildings. They saw them as an asset for business rather than something to shy away from.

  2. Congratulations, Andrew. A well deserved award.

    1. Thank you Janice. It has and continues to be a great honour to work on Carnamah's history and heritage - but the award is definitely a wonderful bonus!